Pakistan avenge shock T20 defeat against Ireland

Pakistan have avenged their shock defeat in their opening T20 international against Ireland, beating the hosts by seven wickets in the second match in Dublin to set up a series decider.

Ireland stunned Pakistan by five wickets in the T20 opener on Friday, their first ever T20 win over the former world champions.

Ireland made a fast start on Sunday too after being put in to bat, scoring 29 runs in the first three overs.

But Shaheen Afridi then got to work, dismissing the opening pair Paul Stirling and Andrew Balbirnie in the fourth.

Lorcan Tucker and Harry Tector (32) put on 62 for the third wicket, with Tucker scoring 51 off 34 deliveries.

Curtis Campher (22) and George Dockrell (15) boosted the score before Gareth Delany's 10-ball 28 not out helped the hosts post an impressive total of 7-193.

Pakistan wobbled at the beginning of their chase when Saim Ayub was caught in the first over and captain Babar Azam nicked Graham Hume behind to depart for a duck in the second.

But Ireland's hopes of sealing a famous series win with a game to spare were dashed as Mohammad Rizwan (75 not out off 46 balls) and Fakhar Zaman (78 off 40) put on a stunning 140-run partnership.

Azam Khan then added 30 not out from 10 balls to take Pakistan home with 19 balls to spare and level the series at 1-1, with the decider to be staged on Tuesday.