No Australians in WC team of tournament

No Australians have been selected in the ICC's team of the tournament, in another indictment of the defending champions' disappointing T20 World Cup campaign.

Australia were left to rue an 89-run loss to New Zealand at the SCG in the first match of the World Cup that battered their net run rate.

The hosts did not lose any of their remaining games but nor did they win them comprehensively enough to move into the top two of their pool and secure a semi-final berth.

An Australian player only scored 50 runs or more on three occasions, and none ranked in the top 10 for bowling economy.

After their triumph at the previous World Cup, Australia had three players in the team of the tournament: David Warner, Adam Zampa and Josh Hazlewood.

This time, eventual champions England boasted the most players in the honorary XI, with four.

English death bowler and player of the tournament Sam Curran was selected, as was fellow quick Mark Wood.

English opening batters Alex Hales and Jos Buttler were included after their 170-run effort that broke the tournament's highest partnership record and assured England of a place in the final.

Indian batters Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav, who racked up seven half-centuries between them, were also chosen.

Runners-up Pakistan contributed two players: all-rounder Shadab Khan and paceman Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Only two sides that were eliminated before the knockout stage were represented in the team.

Zimbabwe's Sikandar Raza got the nod after hitting more sixes than any other player at the tournament (11), while paceman Anrich Nortje made his way in with two four-wicket hauls across South Africa's five games.

The T20 World Cup Team Of The Tournament:

1. Alex Hales (ENG)

2. Jos Buttler (ENG)

3. Virat Kohli (IND)

4. Suryakumar Yadav (IND)

5. Glenn Phillips (NZ)

6. Sikandar Raza (ZIM)

7. Shadab Khan (PAK)

8. Sam Curran (ENG)

9. Anrich Nortje (SA)

10. Mark Wood (ENG)

11. Shaheen Shah Afridi (PAK)

12th man: Hardik Pandya (IND)