Dennis wins Waratahs rugby award

Adrian Warren

Wallabies forward Dave Dennis has received further recognition of his breakout year by winning the Matthew Burke Cup, the NSW Waratahs' Players' Player of the Super Rugby season.

Flanker Dennis was a shining light in a dark season for NSW, with his consistently good form earning him a Test call-up in June.

After going uncapped on a couple of Spring tours, 26-year-old Dennis started on his Test debut against Scotland and came off the bench in each of the three internationals against Scotland.

He polled 245 points, 47 clear of No.8 Wycliff Palu, who won the best forward award.

A third Wallaby forward, hooker Tatafu Polota-Nau, was another five points back and won the inaugural members' choice player of the year award.

Utility Adam Ashley-Cooper was the highest placed back in fourth spot and was named best back.

Exciting young back Bernard Foley won the Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah award and flanker Pat McCutcheon took out the Waratah Medal for on and off-field excellence.

McCutcheon, who was sidelined by injury for much of the year, has been appointed to a new club captain position, an off-field role for the Waratahs, who are still looking for a replacement coach for Michael Foley, who resigned last week.