Newcomers Utd face Victory in ALW opener

·2-min read

Western United will start life in the A-League Women with a bang, facing reigning champions Melbourne Victory in their first-ever game.

Matildas midfielder and United star on-loan signing Chloe Logarzo will take centre stage when the league newcomers host Victory, who are eyeing a championship three-peat, at City Vista Reserve on November 19.

The season kicks off with three games commencing at the same time.

United host Victory, Brisbane play Newcastle and Canberra take on Perth, with all three games kicking off at 3pm AEDT.

On the second day of the season, Wellington Phoenix will play at home in New Zealand for the first time after spending their inaugural season based in NSW.

The Phoenix will host Melbourne City at Sky Stadium in the first of nine regular-season games in New Zealand, including five double-headers.

Adelaide United round out the opening week by hosting Sydney FC at ServiceFM Stadium, the first of seven games at the venue.

There will be a grand final replay in round two, with the Sky Blues hosting Victory at a yet-to-be confirmed venue on November 26.

Perth will play their first WA home game in almost a year when Adelaide visit Macedonia Park on November 27.

Unlike last season, where teams were effectively split into conferences due to various border restrictions, the fixture is completely normal.

As per the league's expansion plans, the regular season is now 20 rounds, followed by three weeks of finals, leading into next year's Women's World Cup.

The season starts after the November international window and there are breaks in February and ahead of the finals in April.

The grand final will be held on the weekend of April 29-30.

The league has focused on having games in family-friendly times and at smaller or "boutique" stadiums, but there will still be some double header matches with A-League Men teams.

That includes Sydney playing four double-headers at Allianz Stadium and Adelaide having two at Coopers Stadium.

Melbourne City will play five stand-alone home games at Casey Fields, and have four double-headers at AAMI Park, while Canberra return to McKellar Park.

The league is also offering free tickets to registered junior footballers.


Saturday November 19

* Canberra United v Perth Glory, McKellar Park, 3pm

* Brisbane Roar v Newcastle Jets, Perry Park, 3pm

* Western United v Melbourne Victory, City Vista Reserve, 3pm

Sunday November 20

* Wellington Phoenix v Melbourne City, Sky Stadium, 1pm

* Adelaide United v Sydney FC, ServiceFM Stadium, 3pm