Martin Scorsese & Robbie Robertson To Receive Society of Composers and Lyricists Spirit of Collaboration Award

The Society of Composers and Lyricists (SCL) will honor the late Robbie Robertson and director Martin Scorsese with the Spirit of Collaboration Award at the 5th Annual SCL Awards, to be held Tuesday, Feb. 13 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

The event will be hosted by Siedah Garrett, a Grammy-winning, two-time Oscar-nominated songwriter and a member of the SCL. She recently reunited with Quincy Jones on The Color Purple.

More from Deadline

Awards are given for songs and scores in film and other visual media.  The evening also includes performances, composers, and songwriter presenters and special guests. 

The Spirit of Collaboration Award recognizes a composer/director relationship which has created a prodigious body of work. Robertson and Scorsese’s collaborations over decades include Raging Bull, Shutter Island, The Wolf of Wall Street, The Irishman, and Killers of the Flower Moon. Past award recipients include Thomas Newman & Sam Mendes, Terence Blanchard & Spike Lee, Carter Burwell & the Coen Brothers, and last year Justin Hurwitz & Damien Chazelle.

The Society of Composers & Lyricists (SCL) is the primary organization for professional film, television, video game, and musical theater composers and lyricists.

2024 SCL Awards complete list.

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.