Knicks' Thibodeau NBA's coach of the year

·2-min read

Tom Thibodeau got the New York Knicks back to the playoffs, guiding them to their second-best record in 20 years and in the eyes of the voters, that coaching job was the best in the NBA.

Thibodeau was revealed on Monday as the NBA's coach of the year for 2020-21, as determined by a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the league.

The Knicks went 41-31 this season to end an eight-year wait for a post-season return, then fell to Atlanta in five games in the first round of the playoffs.

It was the closest balloting since this version of voting was introduced 19 years ago.

Thibodeau got 43 first-place votes and finished with 351 total points, while Phoenix's Monty Williams actually got more first-place votes - 45 - but finished with 340 points.

"Anytime you get an award like this, I'm obviously honored," Thibodeau said on the telecast announcing the results.

"But it's more a reflection of our group and our organisation."

It was Thibodeau's second time winning the award; he also got it in 2011, his first season with the Chicago Bulls.

And another first-year turnaround in New York merited him the trophy for a second time.

Utah's Quin Snyder was third and got 10 of the remaining 12 first-place votes.

Philadelphia's Doc Rivers was fourth, getting the other two first-place votes.

Atlanta's Nate McMillan was fifth, Brooklyn's Steve Nash was sixth and Denver's Michael Malone was seventh.

It's the second major award for the Knicks this season, after Julius Randle won most improved player.

Also previously announced was Utah's Jordan Clarkson winning sixth man of the year.

The MVP, defensive player of the year and rookie of the year awards are yet to be announced.

The defensive player of the year finalists are Philadelphia's Ben Simmons, Utah's Rudy Gobert and Golden State's Draymond Green and .

The MVP will come from Nikola Jokic of Denver, Stephen Curry of Golden State and Joel Embiid of Philadelphia.

The rookie of the year contenders are LaMelo Ball of Charlotte, Anthony Edwards of Minnesota and Tyrese Haliburton of Sacramento.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting