The Kangaroos' Rugby League World Cup wins

Australia are the men's kings at the Rugby League World Cup, having won 11 of the 15 editions in a run of domination stretching back 65 years - with the only times they missed out being in 1954, 1960, 1972 and 2008.

As they go for a 12th title in Manchester on Saturday (Sunday AEDT), AAP offers a run-down of their successes.

1957 (Venue: Australia) - No final played

In the original four-team league tournament, the Aussies, led by Dick Poole, beat New Zealand, GB and France handsomely to celebrate the 50th anniversary of domestic rugby league in style.

1968 (Australia & NZ) - Australia 20 France 2 (Sydney)

54,290 at the SCG watched Johnny Raper's hosts put four tries on a doughty French side, with tournament star Ron Coote keeping up his record of scoring in each match.

1970 (England) - Australia 12 GB 7 (Leeds)

Australia won for the first time on foreign soil against all odds, having lost to GB in the group stage and only qualifying for the final on points difference. A brutal final was dubbed the 'Battle of Leeds' with "the footballing priest" Father John Cootes scoring amid the mayhem which ended with Billy Smith getting sent off.

1975 (Various) - Australia 25 England 0 (Leeds)

A 'World Series' format, staged at 14 venues worldwide over the year, ended with a dominant 'challenge match' finale and Ian 'Shoey' Schubert finishing as top scorer with seven tries.

1977 (Australia & NZ) Australia 13 England 12 (Sydney)

A great escape after the hosts had been second best for much of the final at the SCG before halfback John Kolc, in his only game for Australia, went over for the decisive try in the final minute.

1988 (Various) Australia 25 New Zealand 12 (Auckland)

Building on the success of the Kangaroo 'Invincibles' who wowed Britain in 1982, a multi-country event staged over three years ended with Australia outplaying the Kiwis in the first rugby league match ever played at Eden Park, while captain Wally Lewis battled on with a broken arm.

1992 (Various) Australia 10 GB 6 (Wembley)

Australia won all nine matches in the three-year event, with 2022 coach Mal Meninga their star with seven tries and some pressure kicking in the one-try final - scored by debutant Steve Renouf - in front of a world record crowd for an international of 73,631.

1995 (England) Australia 16 England 8 (Wembley)

Australia fielded a largely youthful, second-string team because the ARL wouldn't select Super League players, but still proved good enough to avenge an opening-game defeat by the hosts with decisive tries coming from Rod Wishart and Tim Brasher.

2000 (British Isles, France) Australia 40 New Zealand 12 (Manchester)

Was this the Kangaroos' most dominant triumph? Including their 110-4 world record win over Russia, they won all six games by an average of over 48 points per game with Wendell Sailor scoring two of their seven tries in a one-sided final that brought them a sixth straight title.

2013 (England, Wales) Australia 32 New Zealand 2 (Manchester)

Smarting after losing the title to the Kiwis in 2008, Cameron Smith's Kangaroos were brilliant in their unbeaten run which culminated with a record 30-point margin in a final controlled by Johnathan Thurston, voted man of the match for the fourth time in the tournament.

2017 (Australia, NZ and PNG) Australia 6 England 0 (Brisbane)

After Valentine Holmes' 12-try tournament beanfeast helped power them unbeaten to the final, it took a lone try from Roosters' Boyd Cordner to settle a tight, nervy affair at Lang Park as the Kangaroos managed to keep clean sheet in a final for the first time in 42 years.