IndyCar Iowa: Newgarden remains the man to beat

David Malsher-Lopez

Newgarden, who will start today’s race from pole, lapped the 0.894-mile course in 18.910sec, an average speed of 170.199mph, while Pagenaud, who will start the race at the back due to fuel pressure problems in qualifying, lapped at 168.515mph.

Scott Dixon, who finished second to Pagenaud last night was third fastest in his Chip Ganassi Racing-Honda, ahead of the AJ Foyt Racing-Chevrolet of Tony Kanaan, who is making his final Iowa start.

Takuma Sato and Graham Rahal signaled an upturn in form from Rahal Letterman Lanigan-Honda with fifth and eight best laps, sandwiching the fastest of the Andretti Autosport quintet, Alexander Rossi, and the second Ganassi car of Felix Rosenqvist.

Conor Daly, last night’s polesitter and starting from third today, has kept his Carlin-Chevy competitive and was P10 this afternoon, just behind Hunter-Reay.

Colton Herta, Rinus VeeKay and Will Power, all of whom wrecked last night, got some miles under their rebuilt cars and finished 13th, 14th and 20th respectively.

Santino Ferrucci turned the most laps of the session with 104 in his Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan Honda.

Tonight's race starts at 8.45pm Eastern Time.

Cla Driver Team Laps Gap Mph
1 United States Josef Newgarden
United States Team Penske 42 170.199
2 France Simon Pagenaud
United States Team Penske 25 0.189 168.515
3 New Zealand Scott Dixon
United States Chip Ganassi Racing 46 0.229 168.156
4 Brazil Tony Kanaan
United States A.J. Foyt Enterprises 41 0.323 167.337
5 Japan Takuma Sato
United States Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 63 0.377 166.869
6 United States Alexander Rossi
United States Andretti Autosport 39 0.508 165.741
7 Sweden Felix Rosenqvist
United States Chip Ganassi Racing 74 0.663 164.426
8 United States Graham Rahal
United States Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 63 0.674 164.334
9 United States Ryan Hunter-Reay
United States Andretti Autosport 63 0.695 164.163
10 United States Conor Daly
United Kingdom Carlin 76 0.700 164.116
11 Sweden Marcus Ericsson
United States Chip Ganassi Racing 75 0.755 163.663
12 Spain Alex Palou
Dale Coyne Racing with Team Goh 86 0.760 163.618
13 United States Colton Herta
Andretti Harding Steinbrenner Autosport 64 0.769 163.546
14 Netherlands Rinus van Kalmthout
United States Ed Carpenter Racing 40 0.844 162.925
15 Mexico Patricio O'Ward
Arrow McLaren SP 82 0.873 162.688
16 United Kingdom Jack Harvey
United States Meyer Shank Racing 78 0.877 162.655
17 United States Charlie Kimball
United States A.J. Foyt Enterprises 63 0.924 162.264
18 United States Marco Andretti
Andretti Herta Autosport with Marco & Curb-Agajani 55 0.946 162.083
19 United States Ed Carpenter
United States Ed Carpenter Racing 53 0.955 162.015
20 Australia Will Power
United States Team Penske 80 1.031 161.394
21 United States Oliver Askew
Arrow McLaren SP 53 1.042 161.310
22 United States Santino Ferrucci
Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser Sullivan 104 1.083 160.975
23 United States Zach Veach
United States Andretti Autosport 78 1.258 159.579
View full results