Virat Kohli has slammed a controversial on-field decision to rule Ravindra Jadeja run out after a belated TV referral in the opening one-day international between India and the West Indies.
Shimron Hetmyer hit a career-best 139 to lead West Indies to an eight-wicket win but the match saw controversy during India's innings.
In the 48th over, Roston Chase hit the stumps at the bowler's end where Jadeja was running, however South African umpire Shaun George ruled not out without going to the third umpire.
But when replays suggested Jadeja was short of his crease, West Indian players appealed and the on-field official referred it to the third umpire who then gave it out.
An angry Kohli shook his head in disapproval in the dressing room.
"The thought is simple, the fielder asked 'how is that' and the umpire said 'not out'. The dismissal ends there," Kohli said after his team's loss.
"The people sitting on the TV outside cannot tell the fielders to then tell the umpire to review it again. I've never seen that happen in cricket.
"I don't know where the rules are, where the line is drawn. I think the referee and the umpires have to take that up, see that incident again. And figure out what needs to be done in cricket."
Jadeja made a quickfire 21 in his 56-run sixth-wicket stand with Kedar Jadhav, who made 40, as India went to score 287 for eight after being put into bat first.
Pollard defends Windies and umpire
West Indies skipper Kieron Pollard said no matter what happened but "the right decision was made".
"For me at the end of the day, the right decision was made, which is important," said Pollard.
"We appealed and the umpire didn't take it at that time, but eventually the right decision was made."
Fans and commentators were gobsmacked by the bizarre scenes.
Jadeja run-out.— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) December 15, 2019
Umpire gave it not-out. Pollard was told by someone from the dressing room that it was OUT. He insisted that the on-field umpire heads upstairs for help. OUT was given OUT. But does the end justify the means?? How’s it different from the Smith #brainfade moment?
What if the umpire realises that the previous ball bowled was a no-ball after looking at the big screen...is he gonna offer free-hit to the batting team?!? if not then how can refer the run-out to the 3rd umpire after looking on the big screen? #jadeja_runout #INDvWI— ¶owthamGaπta (@gowtham_ganta) December 15, 2019
After the bowler goes for his run-up the ball is over so the decision has to be given before it. just unfair to give jadeja run-out after watching the big screen— Saurav Gamit (@gamit_saurav) December 15, 2019
The second ODI is on Wednesday in Visakhapatnam.