Guptill heads NZ squad for T20 World Cup

·2-min read

Big-hitting New Zealand batter Martin Guptill will play at a record seventh T20 World Cup after winning selection for next month's tournament in Australia.

The Black Caps revealed their 15-man squad on Tuesday, including 13 players from their run to the final of last year's event.

Kane Williamson will lead a squad packed with firepower, including Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell and 35-year-old Guptill, who will overtake Ross Taylor and Nathan McCullum by appearing at a seventh tournament.

Trent Boult, who was released from his central contract last month, has been named and will spearhead the attack.

Test sensation Devon Conway has been handed the gloves, replacing Tim Seifert, who was wicketkeeper last year in the UAE-hosted event.

The biggest absence from the squad is paceman Kyle Jamieson, who continues to recover from a back injury. Todd Astle also misses out.

Wellington pair Finn Allen and Michael Bracewell have been named for their first World T20 tournament.

Coach Gary Stead said the team was delighted with the early opportunity to seek revenge from last year's loss to Australia in the final.

"It's great to have this tournament so soon after last year's event in which we played some really good cricket, but couldn't quite get over the line at the end," Stead said.

"It's especially exciting for Finn and Michael who are set for their first ICC events, while Martin Guptill is preparing for his 7th T20 World Cup - which in itself is an incredible achievement.

"With the nucleus of that squad retained along with the exciting additions of Finn and Michael, we should go into the tournament with plenty of optimism."

New Zealand tune up for the World Cup with a tri-series in Christchurch next month against world No.4 Pakistan and world No.9 Bangladesh.

They then cross the Tasman and play South Africa and India in Brisbane as tune-ups for the tournament opener with Australia on October 22.


Kane Williamson (capt), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.