Groenewegen takes Tour stage, Porte gains

Julien Pretot
Australian contender Richie Porte is out of the Tour de France after crashing on the ninth stage

Dylan Groenewegen has snatched his second win in a row on the Tour de France, while Australian contender Richie Porte has entered the overall top 10 for the first time.

The Dutchman needed no help from his team mates in the final straight as he slalomed through his rivals to beat German Andre Greipel by almost a bike length after 181km from Dreux on Saturday, with Colombian Fernando Gaviria crossing the line third.

Porte crossed in 38th place to put himself into equal ninth in general classification.

He's sitting level with Dane Jakob Fuglsang, 57 seconds behind race leader and Porte's BMC Racing teammate Greg Van Avermaet, who retains the yellow jersey.

Controversially, both Gaviria and Greipel were later disqualified.

Gaviria had been boxed in by Greipel in the final 200 metres and the Colombian appeared to headbutt his rival's lower back in retaliation.

Slovakia's Peter Sagan was promoted to second, and German John Degenkolb to third.

"My shape is getting better by the day, I'm proud that I won again today," said Groenewegen, who won the final stage on the Champs Elysees last year.

"Sagan started very early and it was a bit messy, and I surged ahead. It was a good opportunity and I seized it."

One of the overall favourites, Ireland's Dan Martin who won the sixth stage on Thursday, crashed with 17km left and lost one minute 16 seconds.

Martin hit the asphalt as the peloton was speeding up to get ready for the final sprint.

Three of his UAE Emirates team mates dropped back to help him regain his place in the bunch but Martin, with the back of his jersey ripped off and his left elbow bleeding, had to concede time ahead of a crucial ninth stage featuring 21.7km of cobbled sectors.

All the other favourites spent a quiet day in another slow ride.

"It was a good day, no incident, I'm glad I still have the yellow jersey ahead of tomorrow's stage," said Van Avermaet, who leads Briton Geraint Thomas by seven seconds.