Gimenez ankle injury not a break, Uruguay confirm

Atletico Madrid will be relieved to hear their centre-back escaped serious injury after limping off the pitch in the Celeste's victory on Monday

Atletico Madrid defender Jose Maria Gimenez has not suffered bone damage after he was forced off with an injury to his left ankle in Uruguay's 1-0 win over Wales on Monday.

The centre-back lasted just eight minutes of the China Cup final before needing to be withdrawn.

Gimenez went down awkwardly after a collision with Wales midfielder Andy King and initially received pitch-side treatment, before then opting not to return to the action.

His inability to continue will have caused concern at Atletico, for whom Gimenez has played 32 times in all competitions this term.

But a statement from the Uruguay camp later on Monday confirmed that further investigations have ruled out damage to Gimenez's ankle bone.

"Jose Maria Gimenez suffered a blow to his left foot and was substituted five minutes into the game," the AUF signalled.

"Further studies were carried out, with no sign of damage to the bone."

MORE: Ronaldo fails to register a single shot for first time all season | Italy must learn from rejuvenated England, says Bonucci | Coutinho is as good as Neymar, says Dani Alves | Bring on Messi – Spain's Lopetegui excited to face 'one of the best players in history'

Gimenez has returned to Atletico in order to continue his recovery.