Four Origin debutants in women's NSW team

  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
·2-min read
In this article:
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.
  • Oops!
    Something went wrong.
    Please try again later.

NSW women's coach Kylie Hilder has unveiled a new-look spine and named four State of Origin debutants in her side to face Queensland at GIO Stadium on June 24.

Hooker Keeley Davis is the only member of the spine to have played in last year's 8-6 Origin loss.

Rachael Pearson will make her Origin debut at halfback, joined by her St. George Illawarra teammate, fullback Emma Tonegato.

Five-eighth Kirra Dibb joins the halves pairing and will play her first Origin match since 2019.

Hilder's changes came after incumbent fullback Botille Vette-Welsh tore her ACL playing for Parramatta in the final round of the NRLW premiership.

Last year's halfback and former Origin captain Maddie Studdon missed out on selection in the extended squad, while five-eighth Corban Baxter was named a reserve.

Sydney Roosters second-rower Olivia Kernick and Newcastle Knights prop Caitlan Johnston will make their debuts from the bench.

"We've got a really strong team this year, we've got a few debutants," said centre Isabelle Kelly.

"Emma Tonegato is coming in and playing fullback and she's been unreal, and our halves also.

"It's about having a really strong team and working as one. Last year we went away from that but we've really built on that this year."

Alongside Dibb, Hilder has recalled Shaylee Bent and Sam Bremner, the only member of the Origin side without an NRLW contract.

Eleven of the 17 named played in the 2021 NRLW Grand Final for either the Dragons or Sydney Roosters.

Dragons prop Kezie Apps will captain the side for the fourth time.

From next year onwards, the women's Origin will be expanded from a one-off match to a two-game series.

Should the 2023 series end in a tie, the winner of this year's match will retain the shield.

NSW's women' State of Origin team

1. Emma Tonegato (St George Illawarra Dragons)

2. Yasmin Clydsdale (Sydney Roosters)

3. Jess Sergis (Sydney Roosters)

4. Isabelle Kelly (Sydney Roosters)

5. Tiana Penitani (Parramatta Eels)

6. Kirra Dibb (Newcastle Knights)

7. Rachael Pearson (St George Illawarra Dragons)

8. Simaima Taufa (Parramatta Eels)

9. Keeley Davis (St George Illawarra Dragons)

10. Millie Boyle (Newcastle Knights)

11. Kezie Apps (c) (St George Illawarra Dragons)

12. Shaylee Bent (St George Illawarra Dragons)

13. Hannah Southwell (Newcastle Knights)

14. Quincy Dodd (St George Illawarra Dragons)

15. Sarah Togatuki (Sydney Roosters)

16. Caitlan Johnston (Newcastle Knights)

17. Olivia Kernick (Sydney Roosters)

18. Sam Bremner (Cronulla Sharks - NSW Women's Premiership)

19. Teagan Berry (St George Illawarra Dragons)

20. Filomina Hanisi (Parramatta Eels)

21. Talei Holmes (St George Illawarra Dragons)

22. Corban Baxter (Sydney Roosters)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting