Four Aussies in world cricket Test team

Four Australians have been named in the International Cricket Council's Test team of the year for 2022.

Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon were selected in the world's top 11, while England's Ben Stokes was named skipper.

Opening bat Khawaja's selection is no surprise given his prolific run scoring since returning to the Test arena while Labuschagne was also rewarded for his dominance at No.3.

Bowlers Cummins and Lyon have been mainstays of the attack, ensuring Australia's elevation to the top of the ICC Test standings after series wins over England, Pakistan, the West Indies and South Africa.

Ashes rivals Stokes, Jonny Bairstow and veteran James Anderson were also included along with Kraigg Brathwaite (West Indies), Babar Azam (Pakistan), Rishabh Pant (India) and Kagiso Rabada (South Africa).

Stokes was named as captain of the XI in recognition for the way he revitalised England's flagging fortunes after replacing Joe Root as skipper in April.

Under Root England had won just one of their previous 17 Tests, but Stokes and new head coach Brendon McCullum ushered in a radically different style of attacking play to win nine out of their next 10.

That led them to series wins over New Zealand, South Africa and Pakistan as well as a record-breaking victory against India.