'Steals the point': Why dual penalties stunned Daniel Ricciardo

Daniel Ricciardo was demoted from seventh to 11th at the French Grand Prix. Pic: Getty

Daniel Ricciardo believes Formula One officials were wrong to weigh up his last-lap overtakes at the French Grand Prix as two separate incidents.

The Australian finished seventh on track but was demoted to 11th after being handed separate five-second penalties.

Ricciardo sparked a multi-car fight for places but was punished for rejoining the track and forcing McLaren's Lando Norris wide, and again for overtaking Alfa Romeo's Kimi Raikkonen while driving outside the track limits.

Speaking ahead of this weekend's Austrian Grand Prix, Ricciardo said he understood why he deserved one time penalty.

But he took issue with being pushed out of the top 10 with another – particularly because Red Bull driver Pierre Gasly was not involved in the battle but became the beneficiary.

"I certainly feel two (penalties) was harsh," Ricciardo said.

"I get one, and get why they needed to do one because otherwise it is like... he is off track and everyone is going to complain 'what are the rules for?'

"Whether I feel it enlightened the race or not, I think the one was slightly inevitable if I am really honest.

"But two, I just thought to drop me out of the points I thought it was too harsh. With the one I would have dropped already to 10th, so give me one point for trying!

"I've nothing against Gasly at all, but he wasn't in our battle, and he kind of steals the point. I didn't think that justified it. But it is all good... I got over it pretty quickly."

Ricciardo and Raikkonen agreed Circuit Paul Ricard, featuring bitumen run-off areas due to its use as a testing facility, plays into the hands of drivers who are willing to risk a penalty.

"If there is a wall then he wouldn't go past us, it's as simple as that," Raikkonen said.

"We all know the rules – we think about the rules all the time and try them out, but you make a decision.

"For sure at some point when he got past he probably thought 'et's see what happens'. That (the penalty) is the result."