Brisbane Roar women claim W-League championship February 13, 2011, 3:05 am

Brisbane Roar have claimed the W-League championship with a 2-1 victory over reigning champions Sydney FC on Saturday.

The scores were level at half-time, but substitute Lisa De Vanna scored the winner midway through the second half.

The Roar gained revenge for last year's result which saw the Sky Blues triumph 3-2 in the title decider.

"Credit to the girls, they stuck with it, put their bodies on the line and got their reward in the end," said Brisbane Roar coach Jeff Hopkins.

"The game at the beginning of the season (4-2 defeat) gave us a wake-up call. We have worked on a number of things week by week since then and I thought our performance today defensively and also going forward was one of our best of the season."

Roar captain Clare Polkinghorne said the team's gameplan came off.

"Our key focus was to start well and not let them get any momentum, and the early goal was a bonus," she said.

"It all came together for us today, we were completing passes and doing well in the final third which has been our problem lately."

For all the latest football news go to




2015 CAF African Cup of Nations

120 mins.
Congo DR 0
Eq. Guinea 0
Nuevo Estadio de Malabo

2014/15 German Bundesliga

H2 76 mins.
Stadion MünchenFull Scorecard

2014/15 French Ligue 1

H2 73 mins.
Marseille 2
Caen 2
Stade Vélodrome

2014/15 Belgian Pro League

H2 74 mins.
Standard Liège 0
Cercle Brugge 0
Sclessin Stadion


2014/15 Indian I-League

Bharat 0 - 2 Mumbai
Shillong 3 - 4 Mohun Bagan

2014/15 Australian A-League

2014/15 UEFA Europa League


2014/15 Scottish Premiership

2:00am AEST Sun, 11th January
2:00am AEST Sun, 11th January
2:00am AEST Sun, 18th January

2014/15 English League Cup

Tottenham vs Sheff Utd

6:45am AEST Thu, 22nd January