Alonso could miss FA Cup semi-final as Chelsea star hit with FA charge for Long lunge

Marcos Alonso is in danger of missing Chelsea’s FA Cup semi-final clash with Southampton after being charged with violent conduct by the Football Association.

Chelsea star Alonso retrospectively charged over Long lunge

Chelsea star Alonso retrospectively charged over Long lunge

The Spaniard tangled with Saints striker Shane Long during his last Premier League outing.

Referee Mike Dean failed to punish the 27-year-old at the time, with Chelsea claiming a dramatic 3-2 victory at St Mary’s, but the incident was caught on camera.

The FA has now finished its review and decided that further action is required, with Alonso set to be stung with a three-match ban if he opts against an appeal.

A statement released by English football’s governing body on their official website read: “He has until 6pm on Wednesday [18/04/18] to respond to the charge.

“Off the ball incidents which are not seen at the time are referred by The FA to a panel of three former elite match officials.

“Each panel member will review the video footage independently of one another to determine whether they consider it a sending-off offence.

“For retrospective action to be taken, and an FA charge to follow, the decision of the panel must be unanimous.”

If Alonso accepts his charge, then he will be forced to sit out Chelsea’s next three matches.

That will rule him out of a Premier League clash with Burnley on Thursday, an FA Cup semi-final reunion with Southampton on Sunday and a trip to Swansea on April 28.

Saints boss Mark Hughes will be hoping to see Alonso ruled out of the Wembley date with his side as he was quick to question the match officials for failing to act at the time.

He told reporters: "Shane has got a real gash down the calf.

"Having seen it again, it's a clear red card. There's intent to hurt Shane in my view. It's a rake down the back of the calf. It's a dangerous tackle. It could have broken his leg.

"There were three officials within five or 10 yards of him so how they all missed it is beyond me.

"I’m not sure but I don’t think Alonso was booked. Maybe people have to look at that situation again retrospectively. The referee didn’t give a free-kick.

"It’s not sour grapes, we’re not trying to get fellow professionals in trouble but a decision needs to be made on that as it wasn’t acceptable. These are key moments and referees have got to get them right. Maybe that’s why they’re not at the World Cup."

Back To Top