Fresh faces in new All Whites squad

All Whites coach Fritz Schmid has named a new-look squad for his first tour in charge of the national team.

Schmid has selected six newcomers in a 24-man squad for the international friendly with world No.89 Canada in Spain early on March 25 (NZT).

Nikko Boxall will join older brother Michael in the New Zealand defence alongside two other new faces in Adam Mitchell and young goalkeeper Nik Tzanev.

All Blacks legend Sir John Kirwan's son Niko and Wellington Phoenix's Sarpreet Singh have been named as attacking midfielders, with Andre De Jong adding firepower up front.

Tim Payne, Matt Ridenton and Cameron Howieson have been recalled to the national squad after long absences.

A number of established players were not selected due to club commitments - those included Chris Wood, Stefan Marinovic, Bill Tuiloma, Kosta Barbarouses, Deklan Wynne, Kip Colvey and Tommy Smith.

Schmid said he understood that they had other priorities to consider.

"We know what all of those players can offer the national team. They are not selected for this window, but they all know that they are on my watch-list and that they will be offered an opportunity to prove their value in due time."

In the absence of both Wood and Winston Reid (injury), Schmid said the captain for this tour was still to be determined.

He said the squad offered a balance of experienced players, newcomers as well as some returning to the environment.

"It is confirming our intention to take a good look at all of the potential All Whites, because that will be the task in the next months. Not only here in the Spain camp but throughout the next few windows."

Schmid has selected three uncapped goalkeepers in Max Crocombe, Michael Woud and Tzanev, who are all based in England, saying the tour presented an opportunity to look at their potential.

"We know that Canada will have a very strong squad and will present a tough challenge for us in Spain.

"That is the best thing to look forward to. To offer these players a real opportunity to show where we can go from here and start our World Cup cycle."

All Whites squad:

Goalkeepers: Max Crocombe (Salford City, England), Michael Woud (Sunderland, England), Nik Tzanev (Wimbledon, England).

Defenders: Michael Boxall (Minnesota United, USA), Nikko Boxall (Viborg FF, Denmark), Storm Roux (Central Coast Mariners, Australia), Adam Mitchell (Bolton Wanderers, England), Sam Brotherton (Sunderland, England), Tom Doyle (Wellington Phoenix), Dane Ingham (Brisbane Roar, Australia), Themis Tzimopoulos (PAS Giannina, Greece).

Midfielders: Michael McGlinchey (Wellington Phoenix), Matt Ridenton (Wellington Phoenix), Ryan Thomas (PEC Zwolle, Netherlands), Sarpreet Singh (Wellington Phoenix), Tim Payne (Eastern Suburbs), Niko Kirwan (AC Mestre, Italy), Cam Howieson (Auckland City), Clayton Lewis (Scunthorpe United, England), Alex Rufer (Wellington Phoenix).

Forwards: Myer Bevan (Vancouver Whitecaps, Canada), Jeremy Brockie (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Andre De Jong (Hakoah, Australia), Marco Rojas (SC Heerenveen, Netherlands).

Standby: Monty Patterson, Jesse Edge, Justin Gulley, Jai Ingham, Te Atawhai Hudson Wihongi.

Back To Top