Erebus' Will Brown claims pole for Sandown 500


Will Brown has secured pole for the Sandown 500 to make it a Erebus front-row lockout for the first endurance race of the Supercars season.

Brown took out Saturday's top-10 shootout at the suburban Melbourne track, claiming a fourth pole of the season.

His Erebus teammate and championship leader Brodie Kostecki had provisional pole and last crack at finishing with the fastest time.

But Kostecki was unable to chase down Brown's time and the 25-year-old will start from first with co-driver Jack Perkins for Sunday's race.

"The Coca Cola Camaro was pretty quick, that's for sure," Brown said.

"I just thought I needed to do a tidy lap, not make any mistakes and that's what I did.

"There were a few spots I think I could have done a little bit better, but just maximise what I had and don't make any mistakes."

"It's going to be really cool to have both (Erebus) cars, front-row lockout again this year, so can't wait to get out there and let boys race."

Ford drivers Cam Waters and Will Davison were third and fourth fastest, respectively, while Triple Eight young gun Broc Feeney rounds out the top-five on the grid.

It will be Brown's fourth last race with Erebus as he prepares for his blockbuster move to Red Bull Ampol next year to replace outgoing star Shane van Gisbergen.

Saturday was a frustrating day for NASCAR-bound van Gisbergen, who didn't even qualify for the top-10 shootout after going 19th fastest.

Van Gisbergen travelled to Victoria 137 points adrift of Kostecki in the championship standings as he looks to sign off from Supercars with a third straight title this year.

"Of course he's (van Gisbergen) not happy, you have to be disappointed with that when you don't maximise the potential," Triple Eight manager Mark Dutton said.

"He's annoyed with that, but he also knows — as does everyone in the team that it's a 500km race."

The first Sandown 500 since 2019 will get underway at 2.15pm (AEST) on Sunday.


1. Will Brown (Erebus)

2. Brodie Kostecki (Erebus)

3. Cam Waters (Tickford)

4. Will Davison (Shell V-Power)

5. Broc Feeney (Red Bull Ampol)