EPL clubs settle over Super League: report

·1-min read

The six English clubs that signed up to the breakaway European Super League earlier this year have agreed to pay 20 million pounds ($A36.6 million) as part of a settlement with the Premier League.

Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United and Tottenham Hotspur also agreed to accept fines of about 20 million pounds each and 30-point deductions if they join a similar unsanctioned competition in the future.

Sky reported the news with the Premier League expected to officially announce the sanctions later on Wednesday.

The Super League was launched with 12 clubs as founding members, but nine of them -- six from England and AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid -- have since backed out and reached a deal with UEFA.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting