England recall nine players for T20 series

·1-min read

Just four of the England stand-ins responsible for a remarkable one-day series win over Pakistan have been retained for the Twenty20s, with nine players returning to the squad following isolation.

Saqib Mahmood, Lewis Gregory and Matt Parkinson have all been rewarded for their roles in the clean sweep of wins at Cardiff, Lord's and Edgbaston, while Dawid Malan keeps his usual spot in the 20-over set-up.

Ben Stokes, who rushed his return from finger surgery to lead the shadow side and wore heavy bandaging throughout, is rested as Eoin Morgan reclaims the reins.

Jos Buttler is also included after recovering from a calf injury.

Of those who were in the original ODI squad, Chris Woakes, Sam Curran, Mark Wood, Sam Billings, Liam Dawson and George Garton remain out.

Head coach Chris Silverwood will skip the series to take a family break, having cut one short following the coronavirus issues, leaving assistant Paul Collingwood to lead the group.

He had originally been scheduled to do so in the ODIs but was among those sent into isolation.


Morgan (captain), Ali, Bairstow, Ball, Banton, Buttler, T Curran, Gregory, Jordan, Livingstone, Mahmood, Malan, Parkinson, Rashid, Roy, Willey.

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting