7Sports app

Australia name unchanged team

Sportal November 21, 2012, 11:51 am
Shane Watson

Getty Images © Enlarge photo

Australia will be unchanged for the second Test against South Africa with Shane Watson missing out on selection on Wednesday.

Watson was named in a 13-man squad but said he was only able to bat as he continues his recovery from a calf injury, and Australia have opted not to risk the all-rounder.

The 31-year-old is expected to be fit enough to assume his all-rounder duties in the third Test at the WACA, which starts on November 30.

Left-arm paceman Mitchell Starc will again carry the drinks, with the hosts sticking with off-spinner Nathan Lyon and their three quicks.

Rob Quiney, who made nine runs on debut in the drawn Brisbane Test, has been given another chance after a solid display with his medium pacers.

The bat dominated the Test at the Gabba with neither bowling attack able to get on top, but spin is expected to play a bigger part as the match goes on at Adelaide Oval.

Ben Hilfenhaus, who picked up 2-73 and 0-26 in the first Test, continues to be under pressure from the in-form Starc.

Starc starred for the Sydney Sixers in their successful Champions League Twenty20 campaign and has returned to New South Wales in fine form, taking 4-72 in their Sheffield Shield draw against Victoria last week.

South Africa, whose No.1 Test ranking is on the line during the three-Test series, are expected to name leg-spinner Imran Tahir to replace paceman Rory Kleinveldt.

'''Australia''' Michael Clarke (c), David Warner, Ed Cowan, Rob Quiney, Ricky Ponting, Mike Hussey Matthew Wade, Peter Siddle, James Pattinson, Nathan Lyon, Ben Hilfenhaus, Mitchell Starc (12th man)




2015 Cricket World Cup in AU & NZ

1st Inn
India 2/50
West Indies 10/182
WACA GroundFull Scorecard

2014/15 Sheffield Shield

1st Inn
Bankstown OvalFull Scorecard
1st Inn
Gliderol StadiumFull Scorecard


2015 Cricket World Cup in AU & NZ

Bangladesh vs Scotland

Bangladesh won by 6 wickets

Australia vs Afghanistan

Australia won by 275 runs

Pakistan vs United Arab Emirates

Pakistan won by 129 runs


2015 Cricket World Cup in AU & NZ

2:30pm AEST Sat, 7th March
12:00pm AEST Sat, 7th March
9:00am AEST Sun, 8th March