Hardik Pandya was allowed to stay at the crease in the second ODI against Australia despite being caught and run-out from the same delivery.
Aussie skipper Steve Smith looked rather infuriated by the bizarre situation in Kolkata on Thursday which came about because of a Kane Richardson no-ball.
HAT-TRICK HUMILIATION: Pandya sinks Aussies as India win second ODI
Richardson's delivery was above Pandya's waist on the full, but umpires didn't immediately call no-ball.
Smith caught Pandya's shot - who had left his crease thinking he was out caught - before throwing the ball to Richardson for the run-out knowing the delivery was likely to be deemed illegal.
The strange scene was then further confused by a shower of rain, which forced the players, including Pandya, from the field.
The Aussies thought they had their man until umpires checked the height of Richardson's delivery with the third umpire and deemed it to be a no-ball.
That rendered the caught dismissal void, as well as the run-out because the ball was technically dead.
Law 27.7 of the Laws of Cricket states: "An umpire shall intervene if satisfied that a batsman, not having been given out, has left his wicket under a misapprehension that he is out. The umpire intervening shall call and signal Dead ball to prevent any further action by the fielding side and shall recall the batsman."
Pandya was correctly reinstated, but not before Smith queried the umpires about their decision.
All-in-all it was another unhappy day for the Aussies, who suffered another big batting collapse to lose by 50 runs.