Aussies stunned by ambidextrous Indian spinner

A young Indian spinner bowling with both arms left a number of Aussie batsmen scratching their heads in their recent practice match.

Aussies stunned by ambidextrous Indian spinner

Aussies stunned by ambidextrous Indian spinner

Australia got their tour of India off to a good start, defeating an India Board President's XI by 103 runs in Chennai on Tuesday.

All-rounder Marcus Stoinis starred for the Aussies with 76, but he has since opened up about the strange scenes he faced when Ashkay Karnewar came into the attack.

With left-handed batsman Travis Head on strike, Karnewar delivered the ball right-handed, but when righty Stoinis got on strike the young spinner switched sides.

Very impressive. Image: Cricket Australia

The umpire informed Stoinis that Karnewar was switching to bowl left-handed, leaving the Aussie a bit confused.

"I actually didn't know what the umpire was trying to tell me," Stoinis said.

"He was trying to say 'he's going to bowl left arm to you'.

Karnewar didn't trouble the tourists too much, going for 59 runs from just six overs, but Stoinis admitted he was very impressed by his ability to bowl with both arms.

"That's brilliant by him. I've never seen that before. Ever."

While rarely seen in international cricket, Karnewar isn't the first ambidextrous bowler.

Sri Lankan player Kamindu Mendis debuted his brilliant ability at the 2016 Under 19 World Cup, while Pakistan have found a fast bowler who can bowl with both arms.


Back To Top
feedback