Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga will return to lead Sri Lanka's pace attack for the upcoming ODI and T20 series' against Australia starting later this month.

The fiery paceman was one of 16 players named to face the Australians in the two shortened forms of the game with the five-match ODI series set to begin at the MCG on January 11 and the first of two T20Is to be played on Australia Day at ANZ Stadium.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Kushal Perera is in line to make his international debut after being included in the squad and will bring with him a fearsome reputation for clearing the boundary ropes with ease, while Kumar Sangakkara will miss the series after fracturing a finger in the Boxing Day Test.

The injury to Sri Lanka's star batsman adds to the visitors' injury list which already includes Nuwan Kulasekara and latest casualty Shaminda Eranga, who limped off the training field on Wednesday and could be in doubt for the Sydney Test and the two series that follow.

Four spinners have been selected, including the unorthodox Ajantha Mendis who can bowl both off-spin and leg-spin.

Mendis has not played a one-dayer since January 2011.

'''Sri Lanka squad:''' Mahela Jayawardene (c), Angelo Mathews (vc), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Kushal Janith Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Akila Dananjaya, Suranga Lakmal, Rangana Herath, Shaminda Eranga.


More from 7Sport