Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi

Saeed Ajmal, Shahid Afridi and Umar Akmal will not feature in Australia's Big Bash League following an intervention by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

The trio were set to take part in the Twenty20 tournament in Australia from next month, but have instead been ordered to prepare for the upcoming tour of India.

Ajmal was due to represent the Adelaide Strikers, while Afridi had agreed to terms with the Sydney Thunder and Umar with the Sydney Sixers.

But the PCB demanded that the players take part in a domestic Twenty20 competition ahead of the series with India which begins next month.

"Since the Big Bash was clashing with our Twenty20 tournament we have asked the players to feature in the national event so that selectors can check their form and fitness for the selection of the squad for India," PCB chairman Zaka Ashraf told AFP.

Afridi, who would have moved from Melbourne Renegades to the Thunder, had already said he would walk away from his commitments in Australia if Pakistani officials deemed necessary.

The Big Bash League commences on December 7, in direct competition with the PCB tournament scheduled for December 2-10.

Pakistan will leave for India on December 22, with two Twenty20 matches and three one-day internationals taking place between December 25 and January 6.


More from 7Sport