South Africa has selected an unchanged squad for the three-match series against England in July and August pitting Test cricket's highest-ranked teams against one another.

Graeme Smith captains the same group that recently won in New Zealand, with allrounder Jacques Kallis, batsman Hashim Amla, fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander and wicketkeeper Mark Boucher all in the 15-man squad announced on Wednesday.

South Africa plays top-ranked England at The Oval, Headingley and Lord's, with the first Test starting July 19.

Left-armer Lonwabo Tsotsobe and young Marchant de Lange provide fast-bowling backup, while batsman JP Duminy also is retained.

Head selector Andrew Hudson said "we are now building up excellent depth in both the batting and bowling departments."

NZ Newswire

More from 7Sport