'Oh my': Cricket world loses it over 'remarkable' no-ball fail

Riley Morgan
·Sports Reporter
·3-min read
Lewis Gregory (pictured bottom) bowling in the Big Bash.
Lewis Gregory (pictured bottom) bowling one of the worst deliveries in Big Bash history. (Image: Fox Sports)

The cricket couldn’t help but share a laugh after Englishman Lewis Gregory delivered one of the worst balls in Big Bash history.

The clash between the Brisbane Heat and Hobart Hurricanes was filled with drama as Mark Steketee was run out off the final ball chasing a tying score which would have forced the game into a super over.

AXED: Aussies make changes as Joe Burns' fate decided

MADNESS': Outrage as NSW backs Sydney Test despite Covid spike

Despite the controversy surrounding the final decision, another moment had fans in stitches.

Gregory, in the 17th over, slipped as he went to bowl an off-cutter, which resulted in a ‘remarkable’ no-ball.

“That is the most remarkable delivery of BBL10. He‘s fallen over and missed the cut stuff!” Fox Sports commentator Mark Howard said.

“The off-cutter just went wrong.”

Aussie cricket legend Mike Hussey added: “The umpire‘s come up to him and asked, ’Are you okay mate? By the way, it’s a no-ball free hit’”.

Fans around the world couldn’t help and share a laugh with the commentators.

Some even pointed similarities between Gregory’s wayward delivery to Stephen Harmisons’ infamous wide to start the Ashes Tour in 2006.

Gregory was able to share a laugh as he sat on the pitch after slipping upon delivery.

Unfortunately for Gregory, the next ball was a free-hit.

And Tim David took his chance and Gregory watched it sail over his head and into the Gabba stands for a six.

Controversial run-out BBL ending

In an incredible finish, the Heat finished on 8-149 off their 20 overs with Mark Steketee run out off the final ball chasing a tying score.

Third umpire Phillip Gillespie decided Steketee's bat was short of the crease when it was grounded before bouncing up in the air as Colin Ingram's throw hit the stumps at the non-striker's end.

Cricket fans went berserk over the last-ball chaos, which resulted in a fascinating ending.

However, the frames shown on the broadcast had some fans on social media scratching their heads to whether Steketee had grounded his bat over the crease before the zinger bails were dislodged.

Under the rules, if the bat had bounced back into the air after making the crease, Steketee would be safe.

Despite uncertainty over whether Steketee's bat had actually been short of the line, Heat captain Jimmy Peirson accepted the call after viewing a replay post-match.

with AAP

Click here to sign up to our newsletter for all the latest and breaking stories from Australia and around the world.