Confusion reigned supreme at the SCG, when the question of whether Ajinkya Rahane was playing a shot confounded Tim Paine and umpires.
Nathan Lyon went up for an lbw shout in his third last over on day two of the third Test, when India's stand-in skipper was on three.
Australia opted to review the not-out verdict, which was ultimately upheld when the ball-tracker deemed contact to be umpire's call, but only after debate on whether the batsman offered a shot.
It appeared that Australia skipper Paine, prior to signalling for a referral, asked standing umpire Paul Wilson whether he judged Rahane to have padded up or not.
Laws governing the Decision Review System (DRS) dictate that "under no circumstances is any player permitted to query an umpire about any aspect of a decision before deciding on whether or not to request" a review.
Wilson and colleague Paul Reiffel came together after Paine's referral, seemingly discussing whether Rahane had offered a shot.
Steve Smith believes that Wilson "changed" his mind after speaking with Reiffel.
"He consulted with Paul Reiffel and then I'm pretty sure that they said no 'he hasn't offered a shot',' Smith said.
"But I could be wrong."
The incident would likely have generated more controversy if Rahane was given his marching orders.
But the ball-tracking technology meant all of the confusion counted for little, with Australia retaining their review.
It was the second episode of DRS drama involving Lyon during India's innings.
Rohit Sharma was given out on 24 but successfully reviewed the bat-pad catch.
The ball did not appear to scrape Sharma's glove on the replay, although it was debatable whether there was conclusive evidence to overturn the on-field decision.
"Wadey was in the way there at bat-pad, so you couldn't see the hotspot," Smith said.
"The right decision was made."
Sharma only scored two more runs after the reprieve.