Caslick claims top world rugby gong

Charlotte Caslick has claimed her third World Rugby sevens player of the year award beating two of her Australian teammates to the top gong.

Underlining her status as the world's best sevens player Caslick took home back-to-back titles while she also won the award in 2016.

Her teammates Maddison Levi and Faith Nathan were also in the final four with the emerging pair central to Australia's 2022 triple crown.

The team finishes the year with a haul that included Commonwealth Games gold and a World Cup, as well as their World series triumph.

"I think we've just had a really fun year," Caslick said after she was presented with her award by Prince Albert.

"We have a great group of girls with Maddi (Levi) and Faith (Nathan) also nominated but the whole squad has been awesome all year.

"As a group, we've really reflected on the past 18 months from the Tokyo Olympics and that disappointment and really turned it around."

Caslick was Australia's only winner at the World Rugby award ceremony in Monaco, however Wallabies winger Marika Koroibete was included in the men's 15s Dream Team of the Year.

Men's sevens captain Nick Malouf and livewire teammate Corey Toole were also short-listed but the award went to Ireland's Terry Kennedy.

Other award winners included Ireland flanker Josh van der Flier and New Zealand five-eighth Ruahei Demant, who won men's and women's players of the year.

Van der Flier was part of the world No.1 Irish team that claimed a historic first series win over the All Blacks in New Zealand in July while Demant, also a first-time nominee, captained the Black Ferns to the Women's World Cup title.

Coach of the year was Wayne Smith, who turned the Black Ferns into world champions seven months after he was appointed.

The breakthrough players were Italy fullback Ange Capuozzo, ahead of Australian-raised Irish winger Mack Hansen, and New Zealand back Ruby Tui.

England's Abby Dow scored the women's try of the year in their clash with Canada, denying Australia's Emily Chancellor.

Chilean Rodrigo Fernandez, won the men's equivalent with his try against USA in July, ahead of the finalists who included the Wallabies' Lalakai Foketi.