Brigginshaw heads Qld women's Origin push

Murray Wenzel
·1-min read

Three-time NRLW premiership captain Ali Brigginshaw headlines a squad featuring nine potential debutants to play in next month's standalone State of Origin clash on the Sunshine Coast.

Eleven of Brigginshaw's Brisbane teammates were among the players announced on Monday that will be seeking the Maroons' first win in the third year of the concept.

Players will enter camp on the Sunshine Coast later this week before the match at Sunshine Coast Stadium on November 13.

"We have picked a squad we think can do the job for Queensland this year," Queensland coach Jason Hetherington said.

"We are proud to see how well they have adapted during this season with all the ups and downs and to see the skills they showed when playing in the BHP Premiership, Holcim Cup and NRLW season.

"We are excited to see what they can do in the big game in front of a home crowd later this month."

Queensland women's squad: Tarryn Aiken, Annette Brander, Brittany Breayley, Ali Brigginshaw, Karina Brown, Lauren Brown, Shenae Ciesiolka, Brianna Clark, Jessika Elliston, Tazmin Gray, Steh Hancock, Tallisha Harden, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Shannon Mato, Rona Peters, Shaniah Power, Julia Robinson, Chante Temara, Zahara Temara, Tamika Upton.