When does the Australian Open start? How to watch it on TV

The Australian Open is right around the corner - and so are lazy evenings in front of the TV, taking in all that the world’s best players have to offer.

Qualifiers have already begun, which begs one question - when does the tournament proper begin, and how can I watch it?

Not to worry - we’ve got every detail about when the Open begins, and where and how to watch it right here.

When does the Australian Open begin?

The main draw of the Australian Open begins on Monday, January 20.

The qualifiers commenced on Tuesday, January 14th, albeit with the potential for many matches to be postponed due to smoke from the Victorian bushfires throttling the city.

The qualifying rounds will continue through to Friday the 17th, with 16 players in the men’s and women’s singles to move through to the main draw.

How can I watch the tournament?

The qualifying rounds can be streamed online through Channel 9 or ESPN+.

The first round of the main draw kicks off on the 20th, with the draw itself to be held on January 16.

This will be the first year fans will watch the Open on Channel 9, after the free-to-air broadcaster won the rights to air the tournament from Channel 7 on March, 2018.

Beginning in 2020, Channel 9 has a five-year deal to broadcast the tournament.

Novak Djokovic won the men's singles at the 2019 Australian Open, and is the hot favourite to win again in 2020. (Photo by TPN/Getty Images)

Coverage of the tournament will span across Nine’s four channels - 9, 9HD, Gem, and Gem HD.

Pre-tournament coverage will begin from 10am on Monday, with matches beginning at 11am.

Coverage of the tournament is scheduled to conclude at midnight each day, pending the conclusion of late-night matches.

Some matches will also be shown on 9Go!.

The later rounds of the draw, including the finals, will be shown on 9’s main channels.

All matches will be available to stream through the Channel 9 website.

When are the Australian Open finals?

The quarter-finals of the main men’s and women’s singles draw are scheduled to begin on Tuesday, January 28.

The women’s doubles final is to be held on January 31, while the finals of the juniors and wheelchair tournaments respectively will be held on February 1.

Also being held on February 1 are the women’s singles final and the mixed doubles final.

The men’s doubles and singles final will be held the following day, February 2.

Where are matches being held?

The early rounds of all tournament draws, singles and doubles, mens’s and women’s, will be held across four venues in Melbourne - Rod Laver Arena, Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne Arena, as well as the nearby outside courts.

All of the major finals and semi-final matches will be held at Rod Laver Arena.