Australia win toss and field in Cardiff

Ian McCullough
Glenn Maxwell is determined to help Australia bounce back in the ODI series against England

Australia have won the toss and elected to field in the second ODI against England in Cardiff.

On an overcast morning in the Welsh capital, skipper Tim Paine called correctly, with the tourists making two changes to the side that lost at The Oval on Wednesday.

Opener D'Arcy Short will make his ODI debut with Billy Stanlake (toe) sidelined and Jhye Richardson preferred to Michael Neser,

England skipper Eoin Morgan has been forced out after suffering from a back spasm on the morning of the game.

Jos Buttler will captain the side with Sam Billings restored to the line-up.

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Jos Buttler (capt, wkt), Sam Billings, Moeen Ali, David Willey, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood.

Australia: D'Arcy Short, Aaron Finch, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, Travis Head, Glenn Maxwell, Tim Paine (capt, wkt), Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Kane Richardson.