Aussies win toss, bat first in fifth ODI

Richard Hookham
Ashton Agar believes Australia can avoid an ODI wihitewash against England at Old Trafford

Australia have won the toss and opted to bat in the fifth and final ODI of their testing tour against England at Old Trafford.

It is the fifth successive time skipper Tim Paine won the toss in the series.

Spinners Ashton Agar and Nathan Lyon were included in the XI in Manchester on Sunday, while pace bowler Kane Richardson comes into the side for his third match of the series to replace Jhye Richardson.

Left-hander D'Arcy Short returns to bolster the batting and Michael Neser missed out.

Australia's leading run-scorer on tour, Shaun Marsh, will bat at No.3.

Sam Curran (ODI debut), Jake Ball and Liam Plunkett come into the England side for the injured Craig Overton (side), David Willey and Mark Wood.

Justin's Langer's men, battling to avoid the humiliation of a first-ever 5-0 clean sweep against the Aussies in any format of the game, will get the chance to build a big score.

But they are up against it on a ground where the world's No.1-ranked ODI side have won seven of their last 10 one-dayers.

And with warm, sunny conditions in Manchester to suit England's ultra strong batting line-up, Paine's boys will need to give themselves a good platform.

Australia: Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Shaun Marsh, Marcus Stoinis, D'Arcy Short, Alex Carey, Tim Paine (capt), Ashton Agar, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Billy Stanlake.

England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (capt), Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Jake Ball.