Aussie Power claims another IndyCar GP win

Will Power was back on the winner's podium at the IndyCar Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Will Power retook the lead with 34 laps to go and pulled away to win the IndyCar Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway for the second straight year.

The Australian star gave Team Penske its 200th series victory.

Power won the race for the third time in four years, and it's the fourth year in a row Penske has reached victory lane on the road course at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

"Power did a great job and the strategy was right," owner Roger Penske said.

Power picked up his 33rd career win, finishing ahead of New Zealand's Scott Dixon, who started from 18th.

Rookie Robert Wickens finished third.

Four straight pole winners have won the race, including Power, who has won all three from the No.1 starting position.

This one sure wasn't as easy as some of the others, though.

Wickens led for 20 laps during the midsection of the race before Power caught the Canadian with a push-to-pass move in the straightaway, then beat him to the inside of the first turn.

Power never trailed again though he had to contend with a full-course caution that shrunk his growing lead from more than four seconds to less than one.

He barely beat Wickens off pit lane on the final stop of the day and then had to contend with light rain that began with 13 laps to go.

"I was 100 per cent the whole time," Power said.

But the 37-year-old didn't allow any of those potential problems to stop him.

A record-tying seven drivers led the race, matching the mark set in the inaugural 2014 race. And there were 214 total passes.

Power is the first three-time winner of the race.

Alexander Rossi and France's Sebastien Bourdais rounded out the top five.

Three-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves finished sixth in his season debut.