American Black Film Festival Honors To Celebrate Taraji P. Henson, Jeffrey Wright, Garrett Morris & Mara Brock Akil

Taraji P. Henson, Jeffrey Wright, Garrett Morris and Mara Brock Akil are the honorees of the 6th American Black Film Festival (ABFF) Honors.

The annual awards ceremony recognizes excellence in the motion picture and television industry. Actor and comedian Tommy Davidson will host the gala set to take place on Sunday, March 3rd at the SLS hotel in Beverly Hills, CA.

More from Deadline

Henson will be presented with the Excellence in the Arts Award (Female) for her body of work, which includes Empire, Hidden Figures, and The Color Purple.

Wright will receive the Excellence in the Arts Award (Male) recognizing his body of work, which includes Basquiat, Westworld and American Fiction.

Morris, an actor, comedian, writer, singer, and the first Black cast member of Saturday Night Live, will be honored with the Hollywood Legacy Award.

Screenwriter and producer Akil of Girlfriends, The Game and Being Mary Jane, will receive the Industry Visionary Award.

“For decades, these esteemed ABFF Honorees have elevated their projects, and brought joy to audiences across the world,” said Nice Crowd CEO and President Jeff and Nicole Friday. “It is our honor to recognize Garrett, Taraji, Jeffrey, and Mara for all their contributions to culture and the industry throughout their remarkable careers. We look forward to celebrating their many achievements and gathering with our fantastic ABFF partners.”

The ABFF Fan Favorite Move of the Year recognizes the year’s most outstanding narrative feature-length motion picture directed by a person of African descent. The winning film is revealed during the ABFF Honors ceremony.

2024 Nominees:

A Thousand and One, directed by A.V. Rockwell (Sight Unseen Pictures, Hillman Grad, Makeready) – Focus Features

American Fiction, directed by Cord Jefferson (Orion Pictures, MRC, T-Street, Almost Infinite, 3 Arts Entertainment) – Amazon MGM Studios

Origin, directed by Ava DuVernay, (ARRAY Filmworks) – Neon

The Color Purple, directed by Blitz Bazawule (Harpo Films, Amblin Entertainment) – Warner Bros.
They Cloned Tyrone, directed by Juel Taylor (Federal Films) – Netflix

The Equalizer 3, directed by Antoine Fuqua (Columbia Pictures) – Sony Pictures Entertainment

Best of Deadline

Sign up for Deadline's Newsletter. For the latest news, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.