AFL's Coleman Medal set for 53-year low

Steve Larkin
Ben Brown leads the AFL's sharpshooter's medal with 54 goals with three rounds remaining

The AFL's Coleman medal for leading goalkicker is set to be won with the lowest tally in more than half a century.

North Melbourne's Ben Brown leads the sharpshooter's medal with 54 goals with three rounds remaining.

Should Brown or his rivals not reach 65 goals in the home-and-away season, it will be the fewest goals to win a Coleman Medal since Hawthorn's John Peck collected the gong with a total of 56 majors in 1965.

Since then, a total of 65 or more goals has been needed to claim the Coleman.

Richmond's Jack Riewoldt took the medal with 65 goals in 2012 - the lowest tally to win the award since Peck in 1965.

Riewoldt is among a pack of forwards currently chasing North's Brown - Lance Franklin (50 goals), Tom Hawkins (49), Luke Breust (48) and Riewoldt (48) and Jesse Hogan (46) remain chances for the annual goalkicking award.


* First awarded in 1955, the medallist is decided from home-and-away rounds only - not finals

* Smallest totals to win the medal: 54 goals (Tom Carroll, 1961); 56 goals (Bill Young, 1956, John Peck 1965)

* Largest totals to win: 146 goals (Peter Hudson, 1970); 140 goals (Hudson, 1971; 139 goals (Jason Dunstall, 1992).

* Not since Lance Franklin's 108 goals in 2008 has the Coleman winner kicked 100 or more goals

* Past five winners: Franklin (69 goals, 2017); Josh Kennedy (80 goals, 2016); Kennedy (75 goals, 2015), Franklin (67 goals, 2014), Jarryd Roughead (68 goals, 2013).