This game can only go one way

Matthew Richardson September 21, 2012, 11:58 am

It is a preliminary final and anything can happen but really it is hard to see it going any other way on Saturday other than Hawthorn beating Adelaide.

Through the last couple of months the Hawks preparation has been just ideal. They finished top two, they had a week off and they have been able to sit back and watch Adelaide have a tough game against Fremantle.

And at this time of year, at the MCG in front a lot of home support they will be very tough to beat.

In saying that Adelaide have a great midfield in good form and a ruckman in Sam Jacobs who will be fired up because I think he deserved to be All Australian.

With Scott Thompson and Patrick Dangerfield in the middle as well they have some potency.

So if they can get first use there and get the ball to Taylor Walker one out they have a chance.

But their whole team will have to have cracking games to really have a shot, not just a couple of their guns.

On the flip side Hawthorn get back Jordan Lewis and Clinton Young to bolster an already powerful team.

Brad Sewell and Sam Mitchell in the middle are the number one clearance team in the competition and that’s where this will be won or lost.

The Hawks’ ball use is the best in the competition as well and under pressure Adelaide can turn the ball over a bit much in the middle.

And when you have players like Lance Franklin, Cyril Rioli, Jarryd Roughead and Luke Breust up front you just have so many goal kickers.

In the end Hawthorn are going to be too good for Adelaide and will play on the big day next week in the grand final.
Hawthorn by five goals.

Matthew Richardson is a Channel 7 commentator.

HAWTHORN V ADELAIDE CROWS (MCG)
1ST PRELIMINARY FINAL.
Melbourne 4pm LIVE on Channel 7
Adelaide 3.30pm LIVE on Channel 7
Perth 2pm LIVE on Channel 7
Sydney 4pm LIVE on 7mate
Brisbane 4pm LIVE on 7mate

Get out your red and white and get behind the Sydney Swans this Friday night at ANZ Stadium. Click here to buy your tickets


And don't forget to join FANGO for the Brownlow Medal on Monday, September 24 from 7.30pm. Polls, trivia and chat about all things footy, fashion and the count.