Marc Murphy
Marc Murphy

Carlton have taken the first step in finding a replacement for former skipper Chris Judd, naming a five-man leadership group for the 2013 season.

Marc Murphy has been voted into the group, one that is decided by the Carlton players, and he is joined by Andrew Carrazzo, Kade Simpson, Jarrad Waite and Nick Duigan.

After two seasons at the Blues, Duigan has been voted in for the first time in a big tick of approval for the defender as new coach Mick Malthouse made good on his promise to re-structure leadership at the club following a disappointing 2012 campaign.

"We are really pleased with the group chosen, we've got a balanced spread of experience and each line group is represented," said Carlton football manager Andrew McKay.

The leadership group has also been trimmed from previous years, down from nine players in 2012.

"It is not about numbers, but instead a mix of respected players that will drive Carlton's expectations on and off the field in 2013," said McKay.

As had been widely predicted over the last few weeks, Judd, the Blues captain since 2008, stepped down on Monday in order to concentrate on his football after the two-time Brownlow medallist endured a difficult 2012 campaign, one that saw him suspended for four matches for the now infamous 'chicken-wing' tackle.


More from 7Sport

Indigenous stars Lance Franklin and Shaun Burgoyne have both excelled in a thrilling AFL match at the SCG, where Hawthorn have beaten Sydney by six points.