Patrick Dangerfield
Patrick Dangerfield

Reigning champion Patrick Dangerfield of Adelaide looms as the favourite for the 2012 AFL Grand Final sprint with a field of 17 locked in for the traditional half-time event.

Dangerfield, who has made a name for himself at the Crows as a player who can break packs with his pace, won the 2011 sprint and has decided to defend his title on Saturday.

Fremantle's Tendai Mzungu and Shaun Atley of North Melbourne are expected to challenge, while Brisbane's selection of ruckman Ben Hudson will raise a few eyebrows.

Only Melbourne have yet to nominate a player for the Grand Final Sprint.

The two heats are scheduled for before the Grand Final at 12.20pm, while the final will be held at the main break, with a proposed time of 1.10pm.

2012 Grand Final Sprint Field:

Heat 1

Sydney: Harry Cunningham
West Coast: Ashley Smith
GWS Giants: Tomas Bugg
St Kilda: David Armintage
Carlton: Kane Lucas
Melbourne: TBC
Collingwood: Paul Seedsman
Fremantle: Tendai Mzungu
North Melbourne: Shaun Atley

Heat 2

Adelaide: Patrick Dangerfield
Brisbane Lions: Ben Hudson
Richmond: Chris Newman
Gold Coast Suns: Campbell Brown
Essendon: Stewart Crameri
Port Adelaide: Aaron Young
Geelong Cats: Billie Smedts
Hawthorn: Angus Litherland
Western Bulldogs: Liam Picken

Join the conversation on FANGO for the AFL Grand Final from 1pm on Saturday with special guest, North Melbourne's Scott Thompson on board to answer all your questions from 1.30pm.

It's polls, it's trivia, it's chat, it's the vibe, it's all things AFL footy on the biggest day of the year so get involved.

Download FANGO for free.


More from 7Sport