Gary Ablett
Gary Ablett

Gary Ablett won a record breaking fourth Leigh Matthews Trophy after being voted by his peers as the AFL Players' Association Most Valuable Player for 2012.

The Gold Coast captain polled 788 votes to finish ahead of Jobe Watson (602 votes) Trent Cotchin (495 votes), Dayne Beams (377) and Josh Kennedy and Patrick Dangerfield who tied for fifth (256).

Ablett's victory adds more silverware to his already impressive array of awards, including two premierships (2007, 2009), a Brownlow, five-time All Australian, three-time AFLCA Champion Player of the Year (2007, 2008, 2009), four-time club best and fairest and two-time club leading goal kicker.

There was a pall cast over Tuesday night's function in Melbourne as players mourned the death earlier this week of Port Adelaide and ex-Collingwood player John McCarthy in Las Vegas.

Other award winners included Watson, who was named the competition's best captain, polling 180 votes to finish well ahead of Geelong skipper Joel Selwood (97).

Selwood shared the most courageous player award with West Coast defender Beau Waters.

Greater Western Sydney key forward Jeremy Cameron was voted the AFL's best first-year player, with Brisbane's Dayne Zorko the runner-up.


More from 7Sport