Lance Franklin
Lance Franklin

Hawthorn and Collingwood will open the 2012 finals series with a blockbuster clash at the MCG on Friday night.

The two sides met in an epic battle in last year's preliminary and next week's clash is already shaping as the pick of the first-week action.

Adelaide and Sydney will lock horns in the second qualifying final at AAMI Stadium on Saturday afternoon with sixth-placed Geelong to host Fremantle at MCG in an elimination final later that night.

West Coast will meet North Melbourne in the final clash on Sunday afternoon at Patersons Stadium with the Kangaroos costing themselves a chance of staying in Melbourne after their poor performance against GWS.

'''Friday September 7'''
Hawthorn v Collingwood MCG 7:50pm AEST

'''Saturday September 8'''
Adelaide v Sydney AAMI Stadium 2:45pm AEST (2:15pm local)

Geelong v Fremantle MCG 7:45pm AEST

'''Sunday September 9'''
West Coast v North Melbourne Patersons Stadium 3:15pm AEST (1:15pm local)


More from 7Sport