Paul Chapman
Paul Chapman

Geelong have welcomed back a host big names for Friday night's clash against St Kilda at Etihad Stadium, while Hawthorn spearhead Lance Franklin is Round 21's big-name inclusion on a busy selection night in the AFL.

The Cats will field a much stronger team to the one that lost to West Coast by five points with Paul Chapman, James Kelly, Joel Corey, Josh Hunt and Trent West returning from injuries.

Ruckman Orren Stephenson will miss with a broken hand while Allen Christensen, David Wojcinski, Cameron Guthrie and Jackson Sherringham are the omissions

Meanwhile St Kilda, who must win the match at Etihad Stadium to keep their finals hopes alive, named Adam Schneider to replace captain Nick Riewoldt who failed to recover from the knee injury suffered last Saturday.

Defender Jason Blake and midfielder Farren Ray are also in at the expense of Tom Ledger and Sam Dunnell.

Fellow finals aspirants Essendon and Carlton both have big-name inclusions ahead of their Saturday afternoon clash at the MCG.

Captain Chris Judd is back from his four-week suspension for the Blues while the versatile Nick Duigan also returns at the expense of Rhys O'Keffe and Matthew Watson.

The Bombers regain Brent Stanton, Paddy Ryder, David Zaharakis and Cale Hooker and have dropped Mark Baguley, Nathan Lovett-Murray, Travis Colyer and Scott Gumbleton.

Nick Haynes, Toby Greene, Taylor Adams, James McDonald and Dom Tyson all return for Greater Western Sydney for their match against Melbourne in Canberra.

But the Giants will be without Jeremy Cameron (hip) and Adam Tomlinson (kidney) while Tomas Bugg, Adam Treloar and Jack Hombsch.

The Demons regain fullback James Frawley, Jack Watts and Tom Couch while out-of-form Brent Moloney has been dropped along with James Magner and Matthew Bate.

The Hawks named twin towers Franklin and Jarryd Roughead in their initial 25 for Sunday's clash with Gold Coast at the MCG.

They join Liam Shiels (back from suspension), Shane Savage and Taylor Duryea on debut, with spearhead Franklin returning after five weeks on the sidelines due to the reoccurrence of a hamstring injury.

Roughead (ankle) comes in after being a late withdrawal against Port Adelaide while defender Josh Gibson failed to come up from an ankle injury and has not been selected along with Cyril Rioli, who is nursing a shoulder injury and could be sidelined for a further 2-3 weeks.

The Suns have made wholesale changes with Trent McKenzie (club suspension), Liam Patrick (hamstring), David Swallow (knee), Jackson Allen (groin) and Aaron Hall (ankle) making way for Alik Magin, Piers Flanagan (debut), Josh Toy, Tom Nicholls, Michael Coad, Tom Hickey, Henry Schade (debut) and Andrew McQualter.

Sydney's misfiring forward has received a huge boost with Sam Reid named for the Western Bulldogs clash after two weeks on the sidelines with a partial tear of his medial ligament.

Brett Meredith, ex-Eagles Matt Spanger and Mitch Morton are also included with Trent Dennis-Lane making way.

The Bulldogs have three big ins with Adam Cooney, Ryan Griffen and Shaun Higgins included along with Easton Wood, Ayce Cordy, Liam Jones and Lukas Markovic.

Defender Ryan Hargrave (suspension) makes way while Jarrad Grant, Andrew Hopper and Justin Sherman have all been dropped.

North Melbourne have offset the losses of Daniel Wells (calf) and Leigh Adams (shoulder) by welcoming back suspended pair Jack Ziebell and Lindsay Thomas for their crunch game with Collingwood at Etihad Stadium on Saturday night.

Nathan Grima (hamstring) is also out for the Kangaroos, with Luke Delaney included in the side.

The Pies have named an unchanged 22 from the side that scored an impressive eight-point win over Sydney last week.

High-flying Adelaide have regained the services of key forward Kurt Tippett for their trip north to take on Brisbane on Saturday night, after the Queenslander missed the past three matches following a spate of head knocks.

The Crows also welcome back Chris Knights and Luke Brown, with Aidan Riley, Brodie Smith (calf) and Lewis Johnston the men to make way.

Defender Matt Maguire is back for the Lions, as is Jack Crisp, while Todd Banfield and Stephen Wrigley were both omitted.

Fremantle named key duo Luke McPharlin and Nat Fyfe for their must-win clash against Richmond at Patersons Stadium on Saturday, but giant ruckman Aaron Sandilands will miss another week because of his lingering toe problem.

Dylan Roberton and Lachie Neale (quad) were the men left out.

The Tigers, meanwhile, replaced emerging midfielder Reece Conca (foot) with Brett O'Hanlon.

West Coast made four changes for their trip to face Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium with defender Mitch Brown, Bradd Dalziell, Andrew Strijk and Lewis Stevenson coming in, while midfielder Tom Swift has been omitted.

The Power have reinstated Alipate Carlile for injured defender Troy Chaplin and the suspended Hamish Hartlett and also included Daniel Stewart, Aaron Young, Thomas Jonas and Chad Wingard.


More from 7Sport