2020 Vuelta to start in the Netherlands

The 2020 edition of the La Vuelta cycling tour will feature three opening stages in the Netherlands

The 2020 Spanish Vuelta will start with three stages in the Netherlands.

Organisers say the 75th edition of the annual cycling race will begin with stages in the provinces of Utrecht and North Brabant, with riders going through 34 Dutch municipalities in three days.

More than 400 kilometres of the Grand Tour event will be in Dutch territory before the riders return to Spain.

The 2009 edition of the Vuelta also started in the Netherlands.

The announcement was made Wednesday in the Dutch town of Breda.

This year's race will have stages going through France and Andorra.

British rider Simon Yates, who rode for Australian team Mitchelton-Scott in 2018, is the defending Spanish Vuelta champion.